2 comments

Creative License


I saw a quote on Pinterest this morning that brought me to tears.  And it wasn’t even an emotional quote, but it stirred up unexpected things inside me and kind of hit me sideways.  In a good way.

“I want to make beautiful things, even if no one cares.”  At first that thought hit me right in the gut of my own experience and understanding.  I feel like that so many times when my creative energy seems to be on overdrive.  There is something in me that finds great joy in simply creating something of beauty, even if no other human being appreciates it.  Something crafted with my own hands that requires thought and time and intention.  Something that comes from a place in my mind and works its way out through my fingers.  Something that didn’t exist before I crafted it.  Somehow, there is great satisfaction in the entire process.  Making something that adds a little beauty to its own little corner of my world.

Which of course led me to thinking how God must feel in His creative process.  He has found joy in making something from nothing since the beginning of time.  Literally, He made something from nothing.  Can you imagine the smile on His happy face when He declared each time He created something new, “It is good!” That was before there were even any people around to admire and appreciate His work.

And then He made humankind out of the dirt he had earlier formed from nothing.  He began the work of transformation on that day.  Breathing life into something lifeless.  His greatest masterpiece stood before Him and smiled back at Him.  Oh, the joy!!!!

But we (or at least I) tend to forget that His creative processes were only warming up at that point.  Through all of time God has been at work creating and transforming and changing things.  Or, more accurately, people.  We understand that He created us in the womb and that we occupied His vastly creative mind before we even existed.  But His creative work in us didn’t stop there.  If we allow His hands to continue to mold and shape and grow us, we can constantly be in a state of awe at His handiwork in and around us.

Because, like in that garden at the beginning of time, He loves to create and declare, “It is good!”  Even if, as the quote stated, no one cares.  Even if He doesn’t get the credit He deserves.  He loves and enjoys the process.  The process that is us.  He’s not afraid or intimidated to start with little or nothing.  In fact, broken things are His favorite.  I’m here to testify to that. 🙂

Know His touch today.  That He is constantly at work.  Making something of you that is unique and meant for purposes yet to be discovered. Let Him have creative license in your life. His fingers find great satisfaction in the details He is creating in you.   He delights in His creation.  He is creating beauty and “it is good”.  Because, as always, HE is good…:-)

Genesis 1:10, 12, 18, 21, 25 – And God saw that it was good…And God saw that it was good…And God saw that it was good…And God saw that it was good…And God saw that it was good.

Philippians 1:6 – And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.

Ephesians 2:10 – For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

Psalm 139:13-14 – For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

2 thoughts on “Creative License

  1. Jana, I started following your posts a few weeks ago. You are a wonderful writer, and they give me such food for thought. Thank you!

    • Thanks, Denise! Trust me, I’m chewing on the food for thought right as I’m spitting it out here! Thanks for your encouragement!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

