1 comment

Your Personal Invitation To Something Better


photo-62

If you know me at all, you know that everything I do is done quickly.

 – This shows up in my speedy decisions. (The words impulsive and instantly gratifying are probably more accurate.)

– The pace at which I walk. (Stroll is not in my vocabulary.)

– The rate at which I perform tasks. (I can’t relax until it’s all done.)

– The length of my writing projects. (A novel is not in my near future.)

– The extent of my attention span. (If I don’t do it right now, I won’t remember/will be distracted later.)

– The lack of patience in limbo. (I want answers and I want them now!)

And let’s face it.  Life itself is running at break neck speed.

Am I right?

It seems that most of us have forgotten how to breathe slowly.  Rarely do we savor our food, let alone savor life.

The pace we keep leaves us panting, not refreshed.

Much of it is the culture we live in.  The world is a frenetic place and “the need for speed” applies to almost everything we do and experience.

There are things that we can’t control.

But some of it is self-inflicted.

We (and I am speaking to myself here, as I am the worst offender) have to be deliberate in our efforts to breathe deeply and lean into moments of retreat and recuperation.

So, in an attempt to be proactive in this area, I am going to take another look at Psalm 23.

But I’m going to do the opposite of what I would normally do.

Instead of racing through the entire Psalm in one sitting, I’m going to take one little verse at a time and let it pour over my mind and heart fully before moving on to the next.

Sloooooooooooooowwwwwwwwly….

I’d love for you to take this relaxed walk with me.

Simple.

No pressure.

Just a few little words to savor each day.

A small treat to chew on and discover the true flavor of its goodness.

It might take us five days.  Maybe fifteen.

It really doesn’t matter, as long as it takes us a few steps closer to peace, tranquility and the resting trust that Jesus so longs for us to experience in this crazy world.

Doesn’t that sound good?

You want to start today, don’t you? 🙂

So do I.

I want to run with it!

(Of course, I do.)

But let’s be intentional about moving slowly starting NOW.

Let’s just use today to pray about this sweet journey through Psalm 23.

Let’s ask God to somehow transform our hearts and minds through the miraculous power and truth of His word. 

What do you have for us, Jesus?

Where can you take us that we’ve never been before?

Who will You show Yourself to be at this relaxed pace?

I can hardly wait!

But I will….

Psalm 130:5 – I wait for the LORD, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope.

One thought on “Your Personal Invitation To Something Better

  1. Hi Jana!

    Such a good post from you yesterday 🙂 Just thought I’d let you know that I feel it too. So much so that I’ve posted a reminder in my home. I see it every day and my Bible is on the window sill near by. “Slow” is my word for now, as I learn to move at a pace where I’m a better listener to His voice.

    This little gem was on Ebay and had been well used as they built one of the main highways into Yellowstone years ago. Now the Lord uses it to help build roads in my life that I would have just blazed quickly by before.

    Praying for you as you also slow down 🙂

    Love you,

    Carrie

    >

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

