2 comments

Lying In The Grass And Splashing In The Water


green-grass-water-relax-wallpaper

I woke this morning to yet another message that at 3:00 a.m. one more sweet mama felt the anguish of empty arms when her toddler drew his last breath.

It is too much.  

This world and all it does to us is too hard sometimes.  So backwards.  So unfair.  So painful.

I don’t feel like writing this morning.

 My heart is heavy and achy. 

More questions than answers are running through my head.

I tried to send a note to this mama and there were no words.  As if the choke of emotion in my throat has also paralyzed my mind, my typing fingers.

Everything is spinning and nothing makes sense and I find myself dizzy with all of it.

Like there is no safe place to land.

And then my Good Shepherd reminds me:

There IS a safe place to land.

Psalm 23  – v. 2 – He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters…

He knows.

He knows that this world is way too much for us to handle sometimes.

That sometimes all we are able to do is to lie down.  

Our resources for taking one more step have run dry and we are so, so tired.

Because He knows us, knows the burden of our load and the angst of our hearts, He brings us to a place of rest and assurance.

He draws us to the lush green pastures of His presence.  

Soft and solid.  Safe and sound.

(Psalm 34:18 – The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.)

He is with us, His brokenhearted, confused sheep, lying with us in the green grass of His comforting presence.

Our hearts begin to feel their beat again.

But there’s more.

 He leads me beside quiet waters…

Refreshment.  Cool hydration for a parched heart.

Still waters that contrast the raging storm around us.

Can you feel it?

Kneel on the softness of that green pasture and dip the hands of your soul into that quiet water of His promises.  Splash it on your weary face.  Wade in it.

Then find yourself floating on the buoyancy of His goodness. 

The world around us may be chaotic, but we will stay afloat on these quiet waters.  

Circumstance may threaten to take us down, but we are safe on the solid foundation of green pastures.

Exodus 33:14 comes to mind – “My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”

That is a promise.

We are not alone in this world, not left abandoned with the heartache of this planet.

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
     He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,

And for this day and all it holds for you, for me, it is enough….He is enough….

2 thoughts on “Lying In The Grass And Splashing In The Water

  1. Thanks Jana. Just the words I needed to be reminded of this morning.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

