no comments

Our SOUL Purpose


mossy log

He brings back my soul, and leads me in the paths of truth because of your Name. Psalm 23:3

(Aramaic Bible in Plain English)

I really love this version of Psalm 23:3.

He brings back my soul.

Brings it back to life.

Back to health.

Back to the right place.

Back to where it belongs.

I picture those loving hands of His reaching out and carefully picking my soul up off the ground, wiping off the dirt and debris of a neglected treasure.

I see His fingers gently pulling out the thorns of life and circumstance and bandaging the bloody holes they left behind.

His palms swaddle this fragile, intimate core of me.

Transformation and healing are happening in the safety of His hands.

As a finishing touch to His healing work, He holds this delicate soul up to His lips and kisses it.

A seal of protection and promise.

He brings back my soul….

I am alive again, from the deepest inside out.

NOW my soul is ready for the end of verse 3 –

He brings back my soul, and leads me in the paths of truth because of your Name.

My revived soul is now ready to move forward.  To move on in the right path.

I don’t know all the twists and turns of this path.

I only know that the goal, the ultimate destination will be His heart.

Himself.

As I follow His lead, as I take the step that I know this day,

His truth will accompany me.  

The truth of who He is.  The truth of His presence and purpose in all of it.

The truth that if I fall on the path, if my soul gets tired or loses its way again,

– He will pick me back up,

 – restore my soul,

 – bring it back to health and focus, and

 – continue to lead me in the next part of the journey.

And why?

For HIS NAME’S SAKE.

He wants to shine through you and me.  Through your story and mine.

He wants to show that He is still who He says He is.  

Still the Miracle Maker.

The Great Physician.

The Good Shepherd.  

The Creator of all good things.

We are what He uses in this world to remind us that –

He is THE WAY.

THE TRUTH.

THE LIFE.

THE ANSWER.

And He wants to show us first by the miracle He does inside us.

Transformed, healed souls breathing in new air, fresh vitality, ready to follow the Leader on good paths of a hugely abundant life.  Souls eager to find each new step, every new opportunity and let the work He has done shine through what we do, how we think, how we interact with and serve others.

Showing and sharing Jesus – Our SOUL Purpose

Do you feel stuck?  

Is it because your soul needs refreshment, a “bringing back”?

Is your weary, broken soul not up for the journey ahead, or even the next step?

Jesus wants to massage life back into you.  To remove anything that is blocking its healing, preventing its thriving. 

Take your fatigued soul to Him.  Let Him breathe His restorative air into the deepest places of you.

Find your SOUL PURPOSE all over again. 

Ephesians 2:10 – For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

Matthew 5:14-16 – You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.  In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

