no comments

When The Dress Fits….Wear It!!!!


2013-New-Cotton-Dresses-For-Girls-Summer-With-Dot-Bow-2color-3-11Age-Children-clothing-A116

It’s okay to not like every little part of yourself. 

I know that goes against the grain of what our culture tells us.

But here is the honest truth:

There are plenty of things in and about me that I’m not crazy about.  

And I think that’s a good thing.

Because there are things that need growth.  Areas that need weeding.  Those places that need a complete overhaul.

I call it a Holy Unrest.  

A discontentment with the things in my life that need improvement.

Me not liking those things keeps me motivated to move toward change.

But…

That being said, we were created by God and for His purposes.

So it’s okay to also love parts of who we are that reflect who He is.  Those gifts He has given us for the benefit of others.

We can all pick at least one thing about ourselves that we are thankful for, regardless of the length of our “areas to improve” checklist.

Because God didn’t miss a single one of us when passing these gifts out.

For example:

I have a wish list of things I would love to see change on my inside and my outside.  Things that bug the crap out of me about myself.

-I have the attention span of a gnat.

– I can’t remember dates to save my life.

– Perfectionism and selfishness too often have their way with me.

– I tend to worry and obsess before I trust and obey.

These are all things that can send me into a spiral of self-loathing if I’m not careful.

And my discontent with those things in me can motivate me to grow in those areas and make the necessary changes.

But…

There is one thing about me that I like. I am thankful for my personality.

I enjoy that I can connect with people and make them feel heard and accepted.

I love that it gives me the opportunity to let Jesus show a bit of His love through a hug, a shoulder, an encouraging word or a listening ear.

Whew.  I actually said it.  Feels strange to put that out there.

But, the really weird thing is that I don’t feel proud about it.

I recognize that it is a gift from God that began at my conception. I had nothing to do with it. That’s the reason that it comes as naturally as breathing to me.  (Unlike cooking, planning, strategizing…:-) )

I can’t take the credit for my personality any more than I can take the credit for my eye color.

So I can enjoy it as a gift that came from Someone Else.  I can share it.  I can let God use it to express His love to every single person I come in contact with.

It’s like this:

Say you get a gift from a friend that fits you perfectly.  A beautiful dress that brings out the color of your complexion and makes you shine.

You feel like you in that dress.  Comfortable.  At ease.  You wear it well.  It seems it was just made for you – to the point that when you wear it, you can completely forget you have it on.

So you’re a little surprised when you get compliments on the dress.

Your response?

“Oh, thanks so much!  It was a gift from a friend.”

You enjoy wearing that gift.  You’re thankful for that gift.  But you can’t take the credit.  You didn’t make the dress.  You didn’t even make the effort to buy the dress.

It was MADE for you.  It was GIVEN to you.

You are just the blessed recipient that gets to wear it.

You have a Friend who gave you a gift.  You were meant to wear it.  To let other people see and enjoy it.  It was made just for you.

It fits you perfectly and you look radiant in it.

Because it’s reflective of the Creator of that gift.

What is the gift in you that God has given for you to wear?

What is that lovely thing in you that reflects God’s love in a way that only you can?

What is that part of you that feels like breathing, but blesses other people?

What is that thing inside you that when it comes out feels most like you?

You have one.  At least one.

And it’s okay to love it for what it is – a gift. 

To be thankful as heck that God gave you something so precious to share with others.

All credit to God, all blessing to others.

And the deepest sense of fulfillment when you come to realize what you have to offer because of what you’ve been given.

Go wear that gift well today….:-)

Ephesians 2:10 – For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

1 Peter 4:10 – As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace:

Romans 12:6-8 – We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

